The Ethiopian Peoples’ Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) Coalition is morphed into a single unified party today

A Historic Photo: 16 Nov 2019 – (EP) The Ethiopian Peoples’ Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) coalition is morphed into a single unified party today and will be called the Ethiopian Prosperity Party (EPP).

Only one party in the four-member ruling coalition in Ethiopia opposed (pictured) to unify the bloc into one national party. That party is TPLF Aka Weyanne, who is the ruling party in the northern Tigray regional State.

Tigray Peoples Liberation Front (TPLF) who have lost the power grip and reduced only to running one of the poorest regions in the country were against the idea of losing the administration of Tigray by the new document on EPRDF’S merger to build a democratic and inclusive system.

The ruling Ethiopia People Revolutionary Democratic Front, EPRDF, comprises four main parties with five other satellite parties. The four main parties being:

The Oromo Democratic Party (ODP).
The Amhara Democratic Party (ADP).
The Southern Ethiopian People’s Democratic Movement (SEPDM).
The Tigray People’s Liberation Front (TPLF).

Today’s vote will eventually steer power away from regional governments and toward a more centrally governed Ethiopia. The reason why TPLF voted against the merger. For months, the desperate TPLF had held out on joining Abiy’s EPP in an attempt to extract a better deal. However, the reformist Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed gave Mekelle, the hideout city to the former Tigrayan guerrilla leaders, a thump down to their pleas.

A European political observer said, “Abiy’s administration has largely undermined Ethiopia’s formerly Tigray-dominant system, which has naturally created a lot of enemies for the prime minister in the region.

Via: Eritrean Press

የዕለቱ ዜና | Andafta Daily Ethiopian News | November 16, 2019 | Ethiopia